AntiX 21 freezes randomly

Forum Forums Official Releases antiX-21 “Grup Yorum” AntiX 21 freezes randomly

  • This topic has 18 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated May 16-3:43 am by seaken64.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #82831
    Member
    Gloubi

    Hello everyone!

    I’m new in the Linux world and I chose AntiX 21 for my old laptop. It’s an ASUS Vivobook X202e with 2 Gb of RAM. The installation is fresh: I installed the OS 10 days ago.

    I like AntiX a lot and its lightness is amazing, but I have a problem: sometimes the screen freezes, and I can’t do anything: I can’t press anything, nothing responds, the clock on the right in the bottom bar doesn’t progress anymore, and sometimes the mouse freezes (but not always). Yesterday, it happened when I quit palemoon. The day before yesterday, it happened when I clicked on the logout button to open the menu to shut down the computer.

    This happens systematically when I have used the PC for at least 1 or 2 hours while using different programs (but everything is fine). I thought maybe it was the desktop environment that is crashing ? I use IceWM and zzzFM: this is the best option for me. Other than that, everything works fine.

    When it happens, I press the power button on my laptop, and the PC seems to shut down normally, without displaying anything though.

    Do you have any idea what could be the problem? Do you have any idea how to diagnose the problem?

    Thanks to you!

    • This topic was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Gloubi.
    • This topic was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Gloubi.
    #82841
    Moderator
    christophe
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Did you notice this prior to installing antiX?
    List your inxi -zv8 and any additional info, to give us something to go on.

    confirmed antiX frugaler, since 2019

    #82844
    Member
    Gloubi
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Before AntiX I had Windows 8.1 and there wasn’t any problem. I’m sure it’s a software problem.

    Here’s the output of inxi -zv8. I’m now on JWM to test if IceWM is the problem.

    
    System:
      Kernel: 5.10.57-antix.1-amd64-smp x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 10.2.1 
      parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-5.10.57-antix.1-amd64-smp 
      root=UUID=9510c20b-7506-4b8b-b4e0-3e3ce7132294 ro quiet 
      Desktop: JWM 2.4.0 vt: 7 dm: N/A 
      Distro: antiX-21_x64-full Grup Yorum 31 October 2021 
      base: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye) 
    Machine:
      Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: X202E v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
      Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X202E v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
      UEFI: American Megatrends v: X202E.208 date: 02/04/2013 
    Battery:
      ID-1: BAT0 charge: 16.2 Wh (55.5%) condition: 29.2/38.0 Wh (76.8%) 
      volts: 7.4 min: 7.4 model: ASUSTek X202-51 type: Li-ion serial: N/A 
      status: Charging 
    Memory:
      RAM: total: 1.76 GiB used: 837.7 MiB (46.5%) 
      RAM Report: 
      permissions: Unable to run dmidecode. Root privileges required. 
    PCI Slots:
      Permissions: Unable to run dmidecode. Root privileges required. 
    CPU:
      Info: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-3217U bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
      arch: Ivy Bridge family: 6 model-id: 3A (58) stepping: 9 microcode: 21 
      cache: L2: 3 MiB bogomips: 14367 
      Speed: 1740 MHz min/max: 800/1800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1740 2: 1796 
      3: 1661 4: 1797 
      Flags: acpi aperfmperf apic arat arch_perfmon avx bts clflush cmov 
      constant_tsc cpuid cpuid_fault cx16 cx8 de ds_cpl dtes64 dtherm dts epb 
      ept erms est f16c flexpriority flush_l1d fpu fsgsbase fxsr ht ibpb ibrs 
      ida lahf_lm lm mca mce md_clear mmx monitor msr mtrr nonstop_tsc nopl nx 
      pae pat pbe pcid pclmulqdq pdcm pebs pge pln pni popcnt pse pse36 pti pts 
      rdtscp rep_good sep smep ss ssbd sse sse2 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 stibp 
      syscall tm tm2 tpr_shadow tsc tsc_deadline_timer vme vmx vnmi vpid x2apic 
      xsave xsaveopt xtopology xtpr 
      Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: KVM: VMX disabled 
      Type: l1tf 
      mitigation: PTE Inversion; VMX: conditional cache flushes, SMT vulnerable 
      Type: mds mitigation: Clear CPU buffers; SMT vulnerable 
      Type: meltdown mitigation: PTI 
      Type: spec_store_bypass 
      mitigation: Speculative Store Bypass disabled via prctl and seccomp 
      Type: spectre_v1 
      mitigation: usercopy/swapgs barriers and __user pointer sanitization 
      Type: spectre_v2 mitigation: Full generic retpoline, IBPB: conditional, 
      IBRS_FW, STIBP: conditional, RSB filling 
      Type: srbds status: Not affected 
      Type: tsx_async_abort status: Not affected 
    Graphics:
      Device-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics vendor: ASUSTeK 
      driver: i915 v: kernel bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0166 class-ID: 0300 
      Device-2: IMC Networks USB2.0 UVC HD Webcam type: USB driver: uvcvideo 
      bus-ID: 1-1.2:4 chip-ID: 13d3:5188 class-ID: 0e02 serial: <filter> 
      Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.11 driver: loaded: modesetting 
      unloaded: fbdev,vesa display-ID: :0.0 screens: 1 
      Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1366x768 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 361x203mm (14.2x8.0") 
      s-diag: 414mm (16.3") 
      Monitor-1: LVDS-1 res: 1366x768 hz: 60 dpi: 136 
      size: 256x144mm (10.1x5.7") diag: 294mm (11.6") 
      OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 4000 (IVB GT2) 
      v: 4.2 Mesa 20.3.5 compat-v: 3.0 direct render: Yes 
    Audio:
      Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio 
      vendor: ASUSTeK VivoBook X202EV driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
      bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:1e20 class-ID: 0403 
      Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.10.57-antix.1-amd64-smp running: yes 
    Network:
      Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter 
      vendor: AzureWave driver: ath9k v: kernel modules: wl port: f040 
      bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 168c:0032 class-ID: 0280 
      IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter> 
      IP v4: <filter> scope: global broadcast: <filter> 
      IP v6: <filter> type: dynamic mngtmpaddr scope: global 
      IP v6: <filter> scope: link 
      Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR8162 Fast Ethernet vendor: ASUSTeK 
      driver: alx v: kernel port: e000 bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 1969:1090 
      class-ID: 0200 
      IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter> 
      WAN IP: <filter> 
    Bluetooth:
      Device-1: IMC Networks Atheros AR3012 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter type: USB 
      driver: btusb v: 0.8 bus-ID: 1-1.1:6 chip-ID: 13d3:3362 class-ID: e001 
      serial: <filter> 
      Report: hciconfig ID: hci0 rfk-id: 1 state: down bt-service: running 
      rfk-block: hardware: no software: yes address: <filter> 
      Info: acl-mtu: 1022:8 sco-mtu: 183:5 link-policy: rswitch hold sniff 
      link-mode: slave accept 
    Logical:
      Message: No logical block device data found. 
    RAID:
      Message: No RAID data found. 
    Drives:
      Local Storage: total: 298.09 GiB used: 15.2 GiB (5.1%) 
      SMART Message: Unable to run smartctl. Root privileges required. 
      ID-1: /dev/sda maj-min: 8:0 vendor: Hitachi model: HTS543232A7A384 
      size: 298.09 GiB block-size: physical: 512 B logical: 512 B 
      speed: 3.0 Gb/s type: HDD rpm: 5400 serial: <filter> rev: A60W scheme: GPT 
      Message: No optical or floppy data found. 
    Partition:
      ID-1: / raw-size: 295.08 GiB size: 289.39 GiB (98.07%) 
      used: 14.93 GiB (5.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 maj-min: 8:2 
      label: rootantiX21 uuid: 9510c20b-7506-4b8b-b4e0-3e3ce7132294 
      ID-2: /boot/efi raw-size: 256 MiB size: 252 MiB (98.46%) 
      used: 274 KiB (0.1%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/sda1 maj-min: 8:1 
      label: EFI System uuid: 9DC0-7167 
    Swap:
      Kernel: swappiness: 10 (default 60) cache-pressure: 50 (default 100) 
      ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 2.75 GiB used: 274.5 MiB (9.7%) 
      priority: -2 dev: /dev/sda3 maj-min: 8:3 label: swapantiX 
      uuid: 6512290a-43db-4d3a-a1df-6f85b0e8b8e9 
    Unmounted:
      Message: No unmounted partitions found. 
    USB:
      Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 2 rev: 2.0 
      speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900 
      Hub-2: 1-1:2 info: Intel Integrated Rate Matching Hub ports: 6 rev: 2.0 
      speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 8087:0024 class-ID: 0900 
      Device-1: 1-1.1:6 info: IMC Networks Atheros AR3012 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter 
      type: Bluetooth driver: btusb interfaces: 2 rev: 1.1 speed: 12 Mb/s 
      power: 100mA chip-ID: 13d3:3362 class-ID: e001 serial: <filter> 
      Device-2: 1-1.2:4 info: IMC Networks USB2.0 UVC HD Webcam type: Video 
      driver: uvcvideo interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA 
      chip-ID: 13d3:5188 class-ID: 0e02 serial: <filter> 
      Device-3: 1-1.3:5 info: Atmel Atmel maXTouch Digitizer type: HID 
      driver: hid-generic,hid-multitouch,usbhid interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 
      speed: 12 Mb/s power: 100mA chip-ID: 03eb:8417 class-ID: 0300 
      Hub-3: 2-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 2 rev: 2.0 
      speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900 
      Hub-4: 2-1:2 info: Intel Integrated Rate Matching Hub ports: 6 rev: 2.0 
      speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 8087:0024 class-ID: 0900 
      Hub-5: 3-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 
      speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900 
      Hub-6: 4-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 4 rev: 3.0 
      speed: 5 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003 class-ID: 0900 
    Sensors:
      System Temperatures: cpu: 58.0 C mobo: N/A 
      Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 3300 
    Repos:
      Packages: apt: 1751 lib: 875 
      Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list 
      1: deb http://mirror.tiguinet.net/mx/packages/antix/bullseye bullseye main nosystemd nonfree
      Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/bullseye-backports.list 
      1: deb http://deb.debian.org/debian bullseye-backports main contrib non-free
      Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
      1: deb http://ftp.be.debian.org/debian/ bullseye-updates main contrib non-free
      Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
      1: deb http://ftp.be.debian.org/debian/ bullseye main contrib non-free
      2: deb http://security.debian.org/ bullseye-security main contrib non-free
      No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list 
    Processes:
      CPU top: 5 of 159 
      1: cpu: 17.1% command: palemoon pid: 2609 mem: 376.5 MiB (20.8%) 
      2: cpu: 6.6% command: soffice.bin pid: 11903 mem: 121.3 MiB (6.7%) 
      3: cpu: 3.0% command: xorg pid: 2107 mem: 36.2 MiB (2.0%) 
      4: cpu: 1.7% command: roxterm pid: 15176 mem: 30.2 MiB (1.6%) 
      5: cpu: 0.5% command: conky pid: 2360 mem: 2.82 MiB (0.1%) 
      Memory top: 5 of 159 
      1: mem: 376.5 MiB (20.8%) command: palemoon pid: 2609 cpu: 17.1% 
      2: mem: 121.3 MiB (6.7%) command: soffice.bin pid: 11903 cpu: 6.6% 
      3: mem: 36.2 MiB (2.0%) command: xorg pid: 2107 cpu: 3.0% 
      4: mem: 30.2 MiB (1.6%) command: roxterm pid: 15176 cpu: 1.7% 
      5: mem: 7.43 MiB (0.4%) command: zzzfm pid: 2252 cpu: 0.0% 
    Info:
      Processes: 159 Uptime: 1h 24m wakeups: 2 Init: SysVinit v: 2.96 
      runlevel: 5 default: 5 tool: service Compilers: gcc: 10.2.1 alt: 10 
      Shell: Bash v: 5.1.4 running-in: roxterm inxi: 3.3.06 
    
    #82849
    Member
    ModdIt
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi in your desktop you can find /home/yourusername/.desktop-session/logfiles. please look for any errors and post them.
    Do you use java JRE with Libreoffice. Debian Java caused lockups like you describe on my and some other users systems.

    Since starting to use oracle java and removing cache files in home at every boot no more freezes have occurred.
    main culprit was java.

    #82850
    Member
    Gloubi
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi,

    Thanks for your help !

    I only see today logs in the repertory /home/myusername/.desktop-session/, and I haven’t had problems today. It seems old logs are deleted ? There are some errors in the logs but I don’t understand them and the logs are quite long. Certainly they are commons errors…

    I only use the software Libre Office preinstalled on AntiX, I don’t know if java JRE is used ?

    EDIT : maybe the best way is to wait a crash / freeze and then post the log ? But I don’t understand how to do that if old logs are deleted ?

    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Gloubi.
    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Gloubi.
    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Gloubi.
    #82854
    Member
    ModdIt
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi Gloubi,
    I have, up to now never seen the session logs deleted, just automaticaly renamed to, for example old-log-2022-05-08_13-30.log.
    Seems JRE is out of the race for now. To see if errors are common we will need to take a look at them.

    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by ModdIt.
    #82857
    Member
    Gloubi
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    The only logs I have are the logs of today, they all start with : “desktop-session: started dim 08 mai 2022”.
    Here’s the link of all the log files, maybe I misunderstand them : https://we.tl/t-JJYnVZNqIy

    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Gloubi.
    #82861
    Moderator
    caprea
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Do you have the same freezings also with the fallback kernel 4.9.xxx ?
    On the bootscreen you can boot into the 4.9. kernel over the advanced options.

    At least I would update your currently in use kernel to the latest kernel 5.10.104-antix.1-amd64-smp
    You can install it with
    control-centre > software > Package Installer > Kernel Linux Kernel

    #82863
    Member
    seaken64
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi @Gloubi, welcome to antiX. The first thing I would try is to use a different Kernel. The antiX-21 USB comes with two kernel options but even if you choose the Legacy kernel you will end up with the more current 5.10 Kernel when you install and reboot. That is because the installer sees both kernels and installs them both. But then grub chooses the most recent kernel to boot into on default. You may get better results with the Legacy 4.9 kernel. In order to use that kernel you need to select the “Advanced” menu at the Grub and select the 4.9 kernel.

    Try the 4.9 Kernel and see what happens.

    Seaken64

    Yes, what caprea said.

    Most of my hardware prefers the Legacy 4.9 kernel.

    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by seaken64.
    #82901
    Member
    Gloubi
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi everybody,

    Thanks for your advices, I’m now trying the 4.9 Kernel. I didn’t know the 4.9 was a more stable Kernel, I’ve just made a default installation when I installed AntiX. Is there an easy way to make the 4.9 Kernel the default Kernel at boot ?

    I’ll tell you if it works… or not :p

    #82903
    Member
    PPC
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Is there an easy way to make the 4.9 Kernel the default Kernel at boot

    I’m not 100% sure but I think antiX automagically selects the latest kernel at boot, unless you manually select another… So one way to do what you want may be deleting the more recent kernel, and sticking with 4.9 only, if it works in you system…

    P.

    #82904
    Member
    Gloubi
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    The default Kernel stays always the 5.10, even if I boot on the 4.9 before.
    Do I delete the different Kernel with the “Package Installer” ?

    #82908
    Member
    PPC
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    The default Kernel stays always the 5.10, even if I boot on the 4.9 before.

    Like I said, I assume that’s antiX’s expected behaviour, except if you manually state what kernel you want to load (every time you boot your system)

    Do I delete the different Kernel with the “Package Installer” ?

    I assume that’s a safe way of deleting unwanted kernels.

    P.

    #82914
    Moderator
    Brian Masinick
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    It is possible to change the behavior of grub to always boot a particular kernel.

    In the ancient, classic Grub it was easy. In the current Grub2 you have to use variables and set them up. I think it’s in etc default grub – left out the leading slashes and added space so the forum wouldn’t alter the content. Please read the grub documentation for the exact steps; it still is possible to immediately boot another selection but the added complexity forces the user to customize grub; it’s no wonder that some people install different boot loaders (grub CAN do the job, but sometimes it’s unnecessarily complicated).

    Brian Masinick

    #82919
    Member
    seaken64
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Yes, you can delete the 5.10 kernel. But wait until you’ve confirmed that the 4.9 kernel is working for you. I used Synaptic package manager and searched on “linux image” and all the kernels and headers that are available show up on the list. The ones you have installed will be highlighted. Just right click on the 5.10 kernel entry and choose to remove it. Synaptic will do the rest.

    The process should rebuild your grub config file. But if something goes wrong you can boot with your Live USB and select Boot Repair from the Control Centre and then select to rebuild the grub config file, then reboot without the Live USB.

    Grub 2 can be a handful. But there are utilities that can assist in setting up grub. MX is easier since it has this utility built into it’s MX Tools. The short of it is that you can set your grub to boot a particular entry by changing the variable called GRUB_DEFAULT=0 to a different number. “0” is the first entry on the menu. To change it to boot another entry you simply change the default number to something like GRUB_DEFAULT=4. If the 4th entry is your 4.9 kernel that will work. You have to count the number of entries on the menu and enter the corresponding number. The list starts with 0, then 1, 2, 3, 4, etc.

    The file to use is in

    etc/default/grub

    If you change that file you MUST use Boot Repair to rebuild the grub.cfg file.

    If you are new you are probably better off removing the unneeded kernel using the package managers. If you mess up the grub.cfg file you will not be able to boot at all. Have your Live USB ready.

    Seaken64

    • This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by seaken64.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.