antiX rolling – how to dist-upgrade and how to install software

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions antiX rolling – how to dist-upgrade and how to install software

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by anticapitalista Feb 17-9:55 am.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Xaver
    Xaver

With Arch I have some experience, but so far none with Debian rolling.
    There are not many informations in the web on system maintenance of Debian rolling.
    The most detailed I have found on the Siduction site:
    https://manual.siduction.org/sys-admin-apt#apt-upgrade
    https://wiki.siduction.de/index.php?title=Wie_kann_ich_Instabilit%C3%A4ten_vermeiden%3F (sorry – no english version)

For best stability they claim:
    Never do a dist-upgrade in X.
    Never install software in X, if it contains data, that are related to X (i.e. all gui-applications).
    Allways perform these operations in runlevel 3 (init 3).
    Removal of such software should be done in runlevel 3 too.
    This makes system maintenance more complicated than it is in Arch.

Dist-Upgrade:
    Run ‘sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade -d’ in X.
    (So you can still use your PC, while the dist-upgrade is downloaded.)
    Then log out, switch to init 3 and run ‘apt-get upgrade && apt-get dist-upgrade’.

Install software with data related to X:
    Start synaptic as normal user (/usr/sbin/synaptic) and only use it as a package browser.
    Download the desired packages with ‘sudo apt-get install -d’.

But then I do not know how to proceed further.
    If I have downloaded several packages, which command should I use in runlevel 3 to install them all at once?

Forum Admin
    anticapitalista
    anticapitalista

You can safely install in X, no need to drop to init 3.

Use the terminal and read CAREFULLY what it says it is going to do.
    Do NOT blindly hit Enter to continue as you may find yourself with a broken system.