Anyone into Illumos?

Forum Forums General Other Distros Anyone into Illumos?

• This topic has 7 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated Feb 11-2:41 pm by Eduardo Lucas.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Eduardo Lucas

I have used a lot of antix linux computers as it was my go-to distro in any work-related activity and some desktop times where i was fed off of windows but had no money to have a fast computer. Then i saw windows was too hard to stay in other fields and decided to learn UNIX and try a permanent switch to UNIX. I had tried BSDs (i think i only liked netBSD and dragonfly) and AntiX, i still actually ocasionally reinstall antix on my old laptop (which i have no money to keep as my main build as i`m unemployed again as of now) and bought a cheap 64-bit Pentium 4 PC. Then i studied about solaris and discovered illumos. I now use tribblix. Its like a very developer-unix power user antix. I think antix is still my go-to non-systemd/freedesktop non-unix bloatware linux distro on my old laptop, but i confess i fell in love with illumos as my developer and computer science learning and working platform for months and completely abandoned any use of windows, as microsoft seems to have taken it to a bad present and future.

Anyone else with good views? I will always recommend antix and tribblix/illumos/openindiana (if someone has the time to read docs in english) for people who wish to run cheap, repair-friendly old computers.

• This topic was modified 2 weeks, 6 days ago by Eduardo Lucas.
      • This topic was modified 2 weeks, 6 days ago by Eduardo Lucas.
      Forum Admin
      rokytnji

Ist I heard of it. I’ve read online though

Chromium OS – SmartOS (previously known as OpenSolaris)

But that post was locked out from the get go.

https://groups.google.com/a/chromium.org/g/chromium-os-dev/c/feZFRA5NnOk

Guessing this is their run time environment.
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Service_Management_Facility