Authetication Failed

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Authetication Failed

• This topic has 20 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated Mar 14-4:48 pm by PPC.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    YellowZaions

Good afternoon friends.

I don’t know if I can submit my problem here so I want to say sorry if I’m making the topic in the wrong place.

Well right now I’m trying to install Steam and everything went normal until it was needed to install extra packages on the package install. What happens is that when it asks my user password it gives me this error:

=== AUTHENTICATION FAILED ===

Error executing command as another user: Not authorized

That’s very strange to me because I don’t know what it means because I don’t have any other users on my device other then mine. I am totally new to this system so sorry if this problem is easy to fix but I don’t have a clue on how to proceed to fix this error

Attachments:
      PPC

How are you trying to install Steam? Please try installing Steam using antiX’s Package Installer (Instalador de Pacotes).

When asking a question always tell us what version of antiX you have installed (ex: antiX 23.1 Full 64bits, sysV) and exactly what you are trying to do (in this case, how are you trying to install steam? Using Package Installer? Synaptic? Manually installing from the terminal? Using apt or installing directly from a .deb file?)
        It’s like going to the doctor, you have to give us all details, so we can help you.

EDIT: Also, a more descriptive title helps you get the help you need: “Authentication Failed” does not mean much but something like “Authentication Failed when installing Steam” lets people know exactly what kind of help you require.

P.

• This reply was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by PPC.
        YellowZaions

Hello PPC.