Desktop entry deleted from ~/.config/autostart/

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Desktop entry deleted from ~/.config/autostart/

• This topic has 11 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated May 10-4:42 am by 52midnight.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

I’m new to AntiX and running LXDE. I want to start guake in at boot. I created a softlink from /usr/share/applications/guake.desktop to ~/.config/autostart/ as in my other Debian systems. Guake runs, but the link in ~/.config/autostart/ is deleted. I therefore copied the file rather than use a link, but the same thing happens.

What does this, and why? Most grateful for any assistance.

It’s been a long time since I’ve dealt with LXDE, but why not simply adding “guake &” (or whatever command you need to enter to get guake to run, with a space and and “&” at the end) to the autostart file, and using the .desktop file?
    That would probably avoid complications… I never added a .desktop file to an autostart file before, I always use commands…

P.

XecureXecure

Did you install LXDE from antix-core or from antiX-full/base? Is your system running live or is it installed? Did you install LXDE from terminal or from synaptic/cli-aptiX/package-installer?
    If you can explain the process, we may be able to reproduce it ourselves and help find a solution.

• This reply was modified 1 week, 2 days ago by Xecure.

websearch
    lxde autostart applications .config/autostart

2 clicks later
    https://wiki.lxde.org/en/LXSession#Autostarted_applications_using_lxsession

“Guake runs, but the link in ~/.config/autostart/ is deleted.”
    The “deleted” action, suppose it amounts to “ingested” or “consumed”. Items to be noticed (and ingested|processded) during next session startup… does the lxde documentation explain?

You might have, or not, installed a “kitchen sink” LXDE metapackage
    (which installs lxsession and other “optional” lxde components).