Fan not working on Dell E6420 XFR

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Fan not working on Dell E6420 XFR

• This topic has 8 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated Mar 30-7:03 am by Xunzi_23.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    DragonGirlsAndTrucks

[antiX-22]

My fan does not appear to be working correctly. Occasionally it will kick in if the CPU hits close to 90C, but only for a split second, which is not what should be happening. I do not really let it even get to 80C, I just tested it a few times to see when it would kick in.

I’ve ran the BIOS diags thoroughly, multiple times and updated to the latest version of the BIOS [A24] and even restored default settings. Nothing seems wrong there.

I’m unsure where to go next, as I’m new to this. I tried doing some research but haven’t had much luck figuring this out so far.

Any help would be appreciated. Please let me know what you may need.

TIA.

Edit: For additional context, here are the outputs from watch sensors

acpitz-acpi-0
      Adapter: ACPI interface
      temp1:        +25.0°C  (crit = +107.0°C)
      dell_smm-virtual-0
      Adapter: Virtual device
      Processor Fan:    0 RPM
      CPU:            +50.0°C

ACPI is a static 25C – this never changes.

• This topic was modified 2 weeks, 1 day ago by DragonGirlsAndTrucks.
      Xunzi_23

Hi and welcome to the forum.
        Dell E6420 XFR, a highly ruggedised device.
        many reviews state it is very hot running. device with uncomfortably high vent and case temperatures.

The only way I see to find some trustworthy clarity as to cooling system functionality is to test using windoze 10 and the specific dell
        diagnostic tools and checking system logs..
        https://dl.dell.com/manuals/all-products/esuprt_laptop/esuprt_latitude_laptop/latitude-e6420-xfr_service%20manual_en-us.pdf

• This reply was modified 2 weeks, 1 day ago by Xunzi_23.
        Forum Admin
        rokytnji