From Windows to AntiX

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX From Windows to AntiX

• This topic has 11 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated Aug 12-2:28 pm by seaken64.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    laristolaristo

Good day all,
    I am a linux newbie to the Linux world. Even worse, I come from the MSW world.
    Over the last 18 months or so, I have installed on pentium, netbook and an i5 laptop
    the following distros:

antiX-17.3.1
    antiX-17.4.1
    antiX-19.b2
    bodhi-5
    CorePlus
    debian-live-9
    debian-live-10
    linuxmint-18.1-cinnamon
    linuxmint-19.1-cinnamon
    inuxmint-19.1-xfce
    MX-18.2_x64
    xenialpup-7.5
    sparkylinux-5.6.2-i686-pae-lxqt
    trisquel-mini_8.0
    lubuntu-18.10-desktop-i386
    ubuntu-18.04.1-desktop-amd64
    VL-7.1-LIGHT

My first surprise,coming from a world of “you get what you pay for”, they all worked
    well!

Over time I have come to prefer AntiX. To the point of having it on all 3 computers.

I want to thank the AntiX and the MX team for all their work. I also want to thank
    all of you who take the time to help others on this and other forums.

I have run antiX19b2, It already runs very well in live_64bit mode! I can’t wait for
    the final version to come out!

My best to you all!

manyroadsmanyroads

Welcome… I have nothing but good things to say about both the antiX and MX distros. I spent the last 5+/- years running manjaro before arriving here (MX/antiX) last year. I left M$ when dirt was youg (before 2000 by a lot). I am just an old guy and can’t remember the actual transition year. Anyway, welcome and ‘have fun’.

• This reply was modified 4 months, 2 weeks ago by manyroads.

Pax vobiscum,
    Mark Rabideau - http://many-roads.com
    MX-19 kernel: 5.2.21-antix.1-amd64-smp
    "For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." H. L. Mencken
    MX- antiX- bspwm, hlwm, xfce4