Guvcview doesn’t work

Forum Forums General Hardware Guvcview doesn’t work

Tagged: 

• This topic has 6 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated Oct 21-2:06 pm by Dave.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Andy3142

I’m trying to control a c922 logitech camera inside Zoom with Guvcview. However it turns out that Guvcview just does not work, even as the first program run after a clean reboot with the c922 not even plugged in. If I run in a terminal I get as attached, and the GUI crashes. Full system info in same attachment. Antix and guvcview are up to date.

I’m not technical with Linux. I’m only using it because I can’t bear throwing away a perfectly good machine that won’t run windows. So I’ve no idea at all what this means or what to do next. Any ideas appreciated.

I’m not married to guvcview, so if it’s simpler to uninstall and try something else, that’s OK.

Thanks in advance for your help

Andy

Attachments:
    Xecure
    Helpful
    Up
    ::

From your attached file:
    Device-3: Quanta type: USB driver: uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-1.4:3 chip-ID: 0408:2fb1 class-ID: 0e02
    This seems to be the only detected camera, the built in camera on your laptop, which is supported by the 4.9 kernel, but for some reason cannot communicate with Guvcview on your system.

We cannot tell if the Logitec camera is supported on the same kernel (the best I could find is related to the pro edition, but there wasn’t enough information there either)
    please connect it and share the lsusb terminal output.

I will try to see if on a clean antiX 19.4 my laptop has any problems with guvcview (just to see if I can get the same errors and try to figure this out, as it works OK on a custom antiX 21b2, but I haven’t tested on a clean system), though I will be running the 64-bits version and not the 32-bits version (don’t know if it matters).

antiX Live system enthusiast.
    General Live Boot Parameters for antiX.

Xecure
    Helpful
    Up