Hello again

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Hello again

This topic contains 19 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by dirkd Nov 14-1:40 pm.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    dirkd
    dirkd

Not really a new user, but first time on the new forum. I’ve been using 32bit Antix 15 for about three years now, and I’m fully satisfied. But recently Google Music Manager (not an Antix product of course) won’t let me connect with my Google account anymore. In fact, it seems Google Music Manager doesn’t like any 32 bit linux system anymore. So I decided that maybe it was time for an upgrade.

I’m currently reviewing 64 bit Antix 17, and I like it a lot. Some minor problems I had (mouse and rox panel configuration lost when rebooting) have been solved. It mostly just works out of the box now, without much need of tweaking the configuration files.

Still, I haven’t decided yet to make the switch. What do you think: would it be feasible to make a new start with 64 bit Antix 15 in 2018? Or would I be painting myself in a corner?

$ sudo inxi -Fxz
    [sudo] password for dd: 
    System:
      Host: dokux Kernel: 4.9.87-antix.1-amd64-smp x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 
      Desktop: Fluxbox 1.3.5 Distro: antiX-17.1_x64-full Heather Heyer 17 March 2018 
      base: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid 
    Machine:
      Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5QL PRO v: Rev 1.xx serial: <filter> 
      BIOS: American Megatrends v: 0902 date: 11/28/2008 
    CPU:
      Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core2 Duo E7400 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Penryn 
      rev: A L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
      flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3 bogomips: 11177 
      Speed: 1603 MHz min/max: 1603/2800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1603 2: 1870 
    Graphics:
      Device-1: NVIDIA G98 [GeForce 8400 GS Rev. 2] driver: nouveau v: kernel 
      bus ID: 01:00.0 
      Display: server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa