Hello and thanks + encrypted usb disk problem

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Hello and thanks + encrypted usb disk problem

• This topic has 24 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated Dec 15-11:15 pm by Brian Masinick.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    denispr

Hi everyone,
    I’m new and this is my first post to the forum.
    A big thanks to all the Antix folks for the nice work done on Antix. It runs smooth and fast, and is very easy to use, I really appreciate the philosophy of keeping alive old computers.
    The only problem I’m facing is with LUKS encrypted USB disk. On my previous distro (LMDE), I was used to be prompted for passphrase when inserting the encrypted disk. With Antix, nothing happens. Is there anyway to enable that functionality ?
    Thanks,
    Denis

seaken64
    Helpful
    Up
    :D

Hi Denis, welcome to antiX. I’m afraid I have no experience with LUKS. But I’m sure there are others here who can help. I’m sure antiX can be made to do what you need.

Seaken64

Brian Masinick
    Helpful
    Up

Welcome to the antiX distribution and the antiX forum Denis. Like Seaken64, I have no personal experience with LUKS.

I did look up a few things. In case you have not yet seen them, perhaps a few links will be helpful; that’s all I can offer unless an “expert” is handy.

https://blog.fidelramos.net/software/unlock-luks-usb-drive

Will this one solve the problem?

https://www.howtoforge.com/automatically-unlock-luks-encrypted-drives-with-a-keyfile

More information:
    https://blog.elcomsoft.com/2020/08/breaking-luks-encryption/

I wonder if this next tip will be more helpful?
    https://gist.github.com/da-n/4c77d09720f3e5989dd0f6de5fe3cbfb