Hello AntiX (from an EeePC)

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Hello AntiX (from an EeePC)

• This topic has 8 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated Jan 25-11:25 pm by PPC.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    little

Hi AntiX,

I came upon AntiX after trying to update my fun little Asus Eeepc 900: 9 inch display, 1GB Ram, 900Mhz Celeron M (32bit).

I had previously installed (customise and optimised) Xubuntu 12.04 but it was a little out of date (Firefox and Chrome had stopped updating a few years ago). XFCE ran very quick on this little laptop and I still have it on the 4GB internal flash drive*, at the moment. Firstly, I found that Xubuntu (Ubuntu) dropped 32bit in 2018 (which I agree with being a developer myself). I checked DistroWatch and it said that MX Linux supported 32bit and so I installed the lightest weight Fluxbox edition, on the old Eeepc. Unfortunately, this did not go well using about half the RAM and quite slow. Still, I did not want to chuck the Eeepc in the bin.

From MX Linux I discovered AntiX and that runs much much happier on the Eeepc 🙂

* the Eeepc has 2 internal flash drives: 4GB (faster) and 16GB. I also have a 32GB SD card installed.

I made some notes:

• I used the F2FS filesystem on the 16GB flash AntiX uses ~100MB (compared with ~120MB for ancient Xubuntu) and is much snappier than MX Linux.
      • Browsers are a problem: Firefox ESR pinfully slow, had an error Chromium: requires SSE3 (this laptop only has SSE2).
      • SeaMonkey/Palemoon: SeaMonkey works best – funnily I used SeaMonkey in the late 90s when it was forked from Netscape (I didn’t know it was still developed).

Things I’d like to try:
      • Download and compile the latest Mplayer source code to get videos/DVDs playing well.
      • Install SMplayer Gui and change settings to point to my compiled Mplayer.
      • Try out XFCE (Lite) and LXQT desktops. See if full desktop environment is feasible. Old Xubuntu XFCE ran fine.