hello everybody

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX hello everybody

• This topic has 20 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated Mar 4-11:00 pm by chermany4ever.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    chermany4ever

Hi guys. I wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I’m new to the linux world and after looking at several distributions I decided to go for antiX ’cause my machine is more than 10 years old.

I’m very happy with the speed and the light impact antiX has on resources but I need to learn a few things. Obviously I need some help. I wanted to ask you which is the section where I should post questions regarding help. I’ve searched everywhere for information but I haven’t been able to solve the problem. Thank you in advance.

PPC

Hi and welcome to antiX.
        First, before asking any question, my advice would be to take a look at our unofficial FAQ’s, over at https://www.antixforum.com/forums/topic/unoficial-antix-23-frequently-asked-questions/
        They help new users learn how to do most stuff, like changing the desktop wallpaper, adding icons to the toolbar or to the desktop, setting up Wi-Fi, changing the screen resolution, installing apps, etc.
        The introduction text on the FAQ’s also point to other threads, that explain basic and generic stuff, like what Linux and antiX are, what are antiX “desktops”, the basics of using the terminal and scripts, etc. Also, there’s a post about how to exactly ask for help in the forum: generically always describe what you need help with in the thread’s title. Just saying something like “I need help” just is not descriptive at all. Also, always mention exactly what antiX version you are running (ex: antiX 23.1 Full, 64bits, Runnit Version) and, for hardware problems, please see how to provide us with your full system information (tip: if using antiX 23 or later, you can use the System Information entry in Control Center to easily get your system information).