Hello everyone :)

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Hello everyone :)

• This topic has 16 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated Aug 2-1:23 pm by Anonymous.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hello 🙂 I am new to this site and this OS. I would greatly appreciate if you could spare some time to help me get started. The main thing for me is that it has only free packages. Since the newest version has non-free elements in the kernel in order for the wifi to work, I would like to know what version before that would I need to install for it to have a free kernel and are the default repositories stretch main and no-systemd free? I would greatly appreciate every answer. I am new to this OS and I am aware that some questions may not be the best ones but I would appreciate if someone could lead me to some general information about this, so I could start. I would just like to know what is the newest version of core with the libre kernel, are the default repositions free and how to install X and everything needed for Openbox. Thanks in advance

Forum Admin
      anticapitalista

Welcome.

I’ll answer some of your questions.

Latest libre core iso is antiX-16.2-core-libre. You can find iso files here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/antix-linux/files/Final/antiX-16/

Default repos of that iso are free/libre.

This will get you a basic X apt-get install xorg

No idea about ‘everything needed for Openbox’

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX with runit - leaner and meaner.

Anonymous