Hello, I want to try Antix, but…

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Hello, I want to try Antix, but…

This topic contains 9 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Flamefre Nov 23-1:12 am.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

INeedHelp

Hello, I’m new to Antix (and Linux too). I only use little Lubuntun and SparkyLinux in VirtulaBox(just for fun).
    Now I want to try Antix on my very old laptop with Intel Celeron and 256+128mb RAM.
    I make USB Boot with MultinootUSB and boot through plop bootmanager installed with BOOTICE.
    But Antix not starting (tried laptop and VirtualBox).
    I see only text “Press F1 for Help” (image in attachment)
    But SparkyLinux and MS-DOS also copied to pendrive boots well. What should I do?

PS. Have you any suggestions about installation like this:
    C: 4gb Fat32 – Win98 – I Want to replace with DOS
    ? 20gb – Free place I make from C – Here I want to install Antix
    D: 20gb NTFS -WinXP (installed)
    E: 20gb Fat32 – games, files etc. I want to use this from all systems

And after partitioning from C I cant boot winxp from D, so is there any app like BOOTICE fro linux?

Attachments:

Anonymous

Let us see the facts first:

What we have is:

1. I’m new to Antix (and Linux too)
    2. Very old laptop with Intel Celeron and 256+128mb RAM … which was junk 10 years ago
    3. MultinootUSB
    4. plop bootmanager installed with BOOTICE
    5. Antix not starting (tried laptop and VirtualBox)
    6. SparkyLinux and MS-DOS also copied to pendrive boots well
    7. I’m new … I want a lot … I know too little … I use something that 15 years ago had to be replaced with a computer …

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

(Sorry, didn’t mean anything bad but, just couln’t resist)

My suggestion is as following: start from the beginning and start with “known working.

And … start with a Pen Drive that works on other old machines.

Get yourself Rufus:

https://rufus.ie/en_IE.html

and then i386 / i486 copy of antiX: