HELP: New antiX installation refuses to open programs until I change desktop

Forum Forums General Software HELP: New antiX installation refuses to open programs until I change desktop

• This topic has 21 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated Jan 30-5:14 pm by Brian Masinick.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    PPC

Hi!

I’ve been using antiX for about 7 years, at it never stops surprising me. Most of the time, for being so amazing, sometimes for the wrong reasons:

-Situation: my work desktop pc was replaced with a “Dell Optiplex 780” with a “newish” spining drive ov over 300Gb (from my previous desktop). antiX 21 Live 64 bits booted fine and I installed antiX to a a partition (I used the same live pen-drive, to install the system in 2 other computers, without any problem). Install went fine, I choose to “auto” login.
      -since the first boot from the installed system, no application would run from the menu, not even the terminal. The menu works fine, just does not start any program… but it allows me to choose another desktop- so I jumped from icewm to zzz-icem– and it works fine, after getting this strange window:

Title of the window: "YAD",
       Text:
        "Window Manager not found to be running after 20 checks.
         Currently the desktop environment will not start :P
         Give Up Time:"(it displays a random number, probably miliseconds that went by before I switched desktops)

After a reboot, the same situation- nothing works from the menu, until I change desktops again.
      I installed ft10 and enabled it – restarted and, jgmenu does not even get launched, when I click the Ft10’s menu (it’s an external program)

I tried booting from icewm, zzzicewm, fluxbox, jwm and the problem remains. I can only open anything after I switch desktops

Solutions I tried: