Howdy from Hoosierland

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Howdy from Hoosierland

• This topic has 31 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated Sep 11-5:38 pm by NewfieDawg53.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    NewfieDawg53NewfieDawg53

Well, hello there ya’ll. I’m new to using or trying to use AntiX, but have been using Linux since early 90’s.
    Currently I’m attempting to install AntiX 17.4.1 on a salvaged Compaq ENS Deskpro 866Mhz CPU wiht 133Mhz frontside bus box with the RAM maxed out at 512MB. The old Compaq uses the Intel onboard graphics chip thus far refuses to boot into anything other than a black screen with AntiX. The checksums for the ISO image were verified. ISO was burned at relatively low speed. The Compaq is running Lubuntu 11.10 on a Seagate 20GB PATA 7200rpm that passed as many surface tests as I threw at it. which I am not all that fond of due to its’ pretty limited selection of components. I have booted and run Puppy Linux in RAM (Slacko 5.7.2) without problems. I have another ENS 812e Deskpro that I setup years ago that runs Unbuntu 10.04 without problems other than the age of the system.
    Tried booting with nomodeset selected, acpi-off with the result of black screen. Tried fail safe and safe video also with black screen result. The fact that the hardware is circa 2001 and does not support PAE suggests that the most modern versions of most distros are unlikely to work. Any suggestions as to where to get a i386 Non-PAE version of AntiX? Or should I just go ahead and tote this old beast to the recycling center?

Regards and Thankye Kindly,
    Newfie

Got any spare video cards? It looks like it came with different ones, but not sure if separate or onboard. On my Pentium III I took the AGP nVidia card out and switched to an AGP ATI Radeon, and that fixed the graphics problems for Debian 10 and antiX 19.