I am very new to Linux in general and antiX in particular.

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX I am very new to Linux in general and antiX in particular.

• This topic has 7 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated Mar 18-2:47 pm by seaken64.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

I am very new to Linux in general and antiX in particular. To introduce myself, I installed Ubuntu on my 64-bit desktop, and tried many light weight Linux on my 32-bit Aspire One netbook until I finally settled on antiX because it is the fastest OS system to load on this old 32-bit machine. I however am sruggling to learn my way through. for example, I am not able to figure out how to add a shortcut for an application on the desktop. Say I want to show an icon for LibreOffice on the desktop, how can I do it? I do a right click on LibreOffice on the hope that I get a sub-menu telling me save a shortcut to desktop.

What I would like to suggest is that we collectively create a document on how to use antiX; then we post it under Downloads. I will be happy to help on this project; it will give me a chance to shorten my learning curve.

christophechristophe

Hi, aha, welcome!

I am not able to figure out how to add a shortcut for an application on the desktop

I hope you can follow along with this – It’s actually really simple (assuming your are using the default desktop):

1. Navigate your file manager to /usr/share/applications
    2. Find the “libreoffice.desktop” file (or whichever application you want to make into a shortcut).
    3. Drag-and-drop that file to your desktop.

Also, check these out:
    http://download.tuxfamily.org/antix/docs-antiX-19/FAQ/index.html

Home Page

And after you’re ready, help us add to our wiki:
    https://antixlinuxfan.miraheze.org/wiki/Main_Page

• This reply was modified 4 weeks ago by christophe.
    XecureXecure

Hello, and welcome!