I need help configuring the system proxy

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions I need help configuring the system proxy

• This topic has 23 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated Mar 15-7:22 pm by abc-nix.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    chermany4ever

Hi guys. As I already talked about in my introduction thread, I’m new in the Linux world and I need help to set up the general system proxy. I decided to install antiX-19.5_x64-full because I saw a review on YouTube from two years ago and really liked it. It’s very very light and since I’m running it on a 2010 machine with a mechanical disk, makes total sense to me.

I live on a large lot with several cabins that share the same wifi but I’m far from the router and that’s why I use my smartphone to repeat the signal ’cause my antenna doesn’t see it. The problem is that the apps I use to repeat wifi with the phone force me to use a proxy:port. Of course, when you install antiX 19.5 you have Firefox as the default browser and by changing the proxy:port in its net configs I can browse, but all the other functions, like installing other programs, remain blocked. With the help of some of the guys who replied to my introduction thread -thank you guys!!!- I’ve been able to figure out how to set up a proxy on linux. But for some strange reason I can’t get it to work. Maybe I’m doing something wrong? The fact is I’ve tried all the different combinations offered and I can’t get it to work. To check if the problem was the old version I tried antiX-23.1_x64-base and again, I tried all the different ways they told me to set it and I couldn’t get it working. Again, by changing the net config in Seamonkey I was able to browse, but all the other functions I need to connect for remain blocked.