Installed new browsers, where are they?

Forum Forums Official Releases antiX-21/22 “Grup Yorum” Installed new browsers, where are they?

  • This topic has 27 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated Nov 26-5:58 pm by argonaut459.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #93485
    Member
    argonaut459

    Good evening,
    I’m trying out which browser works good on this Dell laptop, and installed all browsers that might be of interest for me.
    my favorite would be Opera (as I’m using it since about version 8 – still don’t like the new ones :’( ) and using it on my android phone, too.
    But all I can see is Chromium, though package installer says all installed. Except Opera, Surf and Vivaldi.

    This brings me to another quirk.
    In MX, if I open the start menu I can type in what I’m looking for, most of the time even a good guess at german or english description is enough to find the programm I’m looking for.
    Didn’t find something like that in Antix yet, the application select in the start menu takes “ages” to come up and so far I wasn’t that successfull to find stuff I installed or is installed.

    Thanks in advance, I’m beginning to feel really stupid in asking such bullocks 🙁
    Julian

    #93488
    Member
    oops
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi,
    If you like Opera, you also can try Otter-browser (like Opera 12, I think).

    #93489
    Moderator
    BobC
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Opera isn’t installed, so it won’t appear on the menu

    #93500
    Member
    argonaut459
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    None of them appear.
    Only browser that worked so far was falkon, thankfully it’s a bit faster than firefox.
    the ones that are installed I can’t see in the start menu.
    I already didn’t have any luck with slimjet install, as I was still using MX last month. Though I had high hopes for it, and this epiphany thing sound interesting, too. If it would actually prevent this laptop from melting its own rubber feet while browsing 😀

    yeah, woul’d love to use the current opera, as the sync betwenn laptop, PC, phone and work comes in handy very much 😉

    #93501
    Forum Admin
    anticapitalista
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Are you using 32 bit iso?
    Also, did you click on Refresh Menu in the main menu?

    Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

    antiX with runit - leaner and meaner.

    #93513
    Moderator
    caprea
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    If the refresh-button from menu does nothing for you please try

    sudo desktop-menu --write-out-global
    

    The epiphany browser in the menu is under internet as all browsers, but called Web.
    Slimjet is called Flashpeak slimjet in the menu and runs from terminal with
    flashpeak-slimjet

    Opera seems not to be installed.

    #93522
    Moderator
    BobC
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    No, he never said which antiX version he installed or posted any system info that I noticed.

    #93921
    Member
    junxian428
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    START menu -> Applications-> Internet, Then you have found the new installed browsers

    #93922
    Member
    argonaut459
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Good morning,
    Yeah that’s the issue I don’t find them there.

    Will try the above mentioned commands ASAP as I’m back at the laptop.

    Is there any way to see what actually happens during installation?
    Like status messages or such?

    #93923
    Member
    argonaut459
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    No, he never said which antiX version he installed or posted any system info that I noticed.

    Copy Paste from an earlier posting.

    System:
      Kernel: 4.9.0-279-antix.1-486-smp arch: i686 bits: 32 compiler: gcc
        v: 10.2.1 Desktop: IceWM v: 3.2.0 vt: 7 dm: slimski v: 1.5.0
        Distro: antiX-21_386-full Grup Yorum 31 October 2021
        base: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye)
    Machine:
      Type: Portable System: Dell product: Inspiron 1011 v: A00
        serial: <superuser required>
      Mobo: Dell model: CN0Y53 v: A00 serial: <superuser required> BIOS: Dell
        v: A00 date: 03/20/2009
    Battery:
      ID-1: BAT1 charge: 30.6 Wh (80.5%) condition: 38.0/44.0 Wh (86.5%)
        volts: 11.7 min: 11.1 model: Dell type: Li-ion serial: <filter>
        status: discharging
    Memory:
      RAM: total: 1.96 GiB used: 577.5 MiB (28.8%)
      RAM Report:
        permissions: Unable to run dmidecode. Root privileges required.
    CPU:
      Info: single core model: Intel Atom N270 bits: 32 type: MT smt: enabled
        arch: Bonnell rev: 2 cache: L1: 56 KiB L2: 512 KiB
      Speed (MHz): avg: 1067 min/max: 800/1600 cores: 1: 1067 2: 1067
        bogomips: 6383
      Flags: acpi aperfmperf apic arch_perfmon bts clflush cmov constant_tsc
        cx8 de ds_cpl dtes64 dtherm dts est fpu fxsr ht lahf_lm mca mce mmx monitor
        movbe msr mtrr nx pae pat pbe pdcm pebs pge pni pse sep ss sse sse2 ssse3
        tm tm2 tsc vme xtpr
    Graphics:
      Device-1: Intel Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics vendor: Dell
        driver: i915 v: kernel arch: Gen3.5 ports: active: LVDS-1,VGA-1 empty: none
        bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:27ae class-ID: 0300
      Device-2: Syntek Integrated Webcam type: USB driver: uvcvideo
        bus-ID: 1-2:3 chip-ID: 174f:1403 class-ID: 0e02
      Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.20.11 driver: X: loaded: intel
        unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa gpu: i915 display-ID: :0.0 screens: 1
      Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1920x1080 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 506x285mm (19.92x11.22")
        s-diag: 581mm (22.86")
      Monitor-1: LVDS-1 mapped: LVDS1 pos: primary model: AU Optronics 0x10d1
        res: 1024x576 hz: 60 dpi: 118 size: 220x130mm (8.66x5.12")
        diag: 256mm (10.1") modes: 1024x576
      Monitor-2: VGA-1 mapped: VGA1 pos: primary model: Samsung SyncMaster
        serial: <filter> res: 1920x1080 hz: 60 dpi: 92
        size: 530x300mm (20.87x11.81") diag: 609mm (24") modes: max: 1920x1080
        min: 640x480
      OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2 v: 1.4 Mesa 20.3.5
        direct render: Yes
    Audio:
      Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio vendor: Dell
        driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:27d8
        class-ID: 0403
      Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k4.9.0-279-antix.1-486-smp running: yes
    Network:
      Device-1: Broadcom BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n vendor: Dell driver: wl v: kernel
        bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 14e4:4359 class-ID: 0280
      IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
      IP v4: <filter> scope: global broadcast: <filter>
      IP v6: <filter> type: dynamic mngtmpaddr scope: global
      IP v6: <filter> scope: link
      Device-2: Realtek RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet vendor: Dell
        driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8136
        class-ID: 0200
      IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
      WAN IP: <filter>
    Bluetooth:
      Message: No bluetooth data found.
    Logical:
      Message: No logical block device data found.
    RAID:
      Message: No RAID data found.
    Drives:
      Local Storage: total: 223.57 GiB used: 4.01 GiB (1.8%)
      ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Patriot model: Burst size: 223.57 GiB
        speed: <unknown> type: SSD serial: <filter> rev: E1.3 scheme: MBR
      Message: No optical or floppy data found.
    Partition:
      ID-1: / size: 39.08 GiB used: 4.01 GiB (10.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7
        label: rootantiX21 uuid: b990c422-28b1-4e04-9fe5-2330b4b492de
    Swap:
      ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 5 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -1
        dev: /dev/sda5 label: swap uuid: 61d180d5-871f-44b2-b690-149fa9b43e37
    Unmounted:
      ID-1: /dev/sda1 size: 50 MiB fs: ntfs label: N/A uuid: EEBA32EBBA32B047
      ID-2: /dev/sda2 size: 19.53 GiB fs: ntfs label: N/A
        uuid: 525425FD5425E487
      ID-3: /dev/sda3 size: 4.88 GiB fs: ntfs label: Programme
        uuid: A40E08440E0811CA
      ID-4: /dev/sda4 size: 1 KiB fs: <superuser required> label: N/A uuid: N/A
      ID-5: /dev/sda6 size: 40 GiB fs: ext4 label: rootMX21
        uuid: 03b083a1-1c23-4c0e-a668-a3a7d745fa06
    USB:
      Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 8 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
        chip-ID: 1d6b:0002 class-ID: 0900
      Device-1: 1-2:3 info: Syntek Integrated Webcam type: Video
        driver: uvcvideo interfaces: 2 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA
        chip-ID: 174f:1403 class-ID: 0e02
      Device-2: 1-3:4 info: Realtek USB 2.0 multicard reader type: Mass Storage
        driver: ums-realtek interfaces: 1 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s power: 500mA
        chip-ID: 0bda:0158 class-ID: 0806 serial: <filter>
      Hub-2: 2-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1
        speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001 class-ID: 0900
      Device-1: 2-1:2 info: USB OPTICAL MOUSE type: Mouse
        driver: hid-generic,usbhid interfaces: 1 rev: 1.1 speed: 1.5 Mb/s
        power: 100mA chip-ID: 275d:0ba6 class-ID: 0301
      Hub-3: 3-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1
        speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001 class-ID: 0900
      Hub-4: 4-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1
        speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001 class-ID: 0900
      Hub-5: 5-0:1 info: Full speed or root hub ports: 2 rev: 1.1
        speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0001 class-ID: 0900
    Sensors:
      System Temperatures: cpu: 55.0 C mobo: N/A
      Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
    Info:
      Processes: 164 Uptime: 55m wakeups: 3 Init: SysVinit v: 2.96 runlevel: 5
      default: 5 Compilers: gcc: 10.2.1 alt: 10 Packages: apt: 1687 Shell: Bash
      v: 5.1.4 running-in: roxterm inxi: 3.3.19

    [/quote]

    #93924
    Moderator
    BobC
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    There is a recent thread, and old ones too about lightweight browsers, if you haven’t already read it.

    Try the menu refresh. App-Select will help you find the menu manager to add it yourself, if a browser you installed did not appear on the menu. If you did add one, it should appear on the menu. If not let us know. Maybe make a screenshot of the menu on the screen, crop it down to that area, and post it.

    Better yet, add it to your toolbar with the Toolbar Icon Manager, because on old machines its much quicker running programs from the toolbar than it is to run them via the menus.

    PS: Did you try what Caprea suggested?

    • This reply was modified 2 weeks ago by BobC.
    #93927
    Member
    argonaut459
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Due to these threads I was looking for these browser 😉

    I’ll report back ASAP

    #93928
    Member
    PPC
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi- “Opera” – it’s chromium based – I’m not sure that chromium based browsers are available for 32bits computers (I mean no “recent versions”, versions made some 2 years ago or so will still work in 32bits devices, but won’t be safe because they do not have recent security patches)

    Like posted here, there is a browser that is based on old Opera versions, available for Linux – Otter browser

    “Chromium” and “Vivaldi”- the same applies – probably no recent Chromium version is available for 32bits linux devices (and I thinkg Vivaldi is Chromium based).

    From the picture you posted, we can see that Epiphany, Falkon, Slimjet and Ungoogled Chromium seem to be installed.

    “In MX, if I open the start menu I can type in what I’m looking for”
    That feature is not directly available in the antiX menu- because antiX, to save resources, uses WindowManagers, not a full blown Desktop Environment (MX’s default D.E., XFCE, has a menu that can search for installed apps).
    But, as you noticed, you can still search for apps- on the top entries in antiX’s menu, the icon that looks like a magnifying glass – it launches a program (app-select) that allows you to search, and then launch applications by name or description. It’s a bit slow to start on old computers, but does the same as the “search” feature in MX’s menu. If a program is not listed in app-selext, it’s because it’s not installed (or, if installed, has no .desktop file, which is not the case of any of these browsers)
    Like most stuff in antiX- antiX does most of what other OSes do (sometimes much more), but it does it in a different way, to save resources.

    If my assumption that no chromium based browsers are no longer available in 32bits is true, then, not even Ungoogled Chromium will work in your computer. If it does, it’s probably an older version. Please note that U.C. should be available in your system, if installed, as “Chromium”.

    From what I can see from your snapshot:
    antiX menu > Internet > Falkon should launch Falkon browser
    antiX menu > Internet > Web should launch Epiphany
    antiX menu > Internet > Flashpeak … should launch slimjet

    Like Caprea suggests:

    sudo desktop-menu --write-out-global

    should update your menu and make the installed applications appear in the correct categories. Did you try to run that command?

    Do any of the menu entries that I (and a previous post) mention come up in the menu/appselect? If not, do you launch falkon from the command line, or how do you start it?

    Most probably you don’t see the browsers in you menu or in appselect, it’s because they are not installed. If my assumption is correct, they are not installed because they are not compatible with a 32bits Linux computer, such as yours.

    I do have a 32bits laptop and I run an old 32bits version of Min Browser on it – it’s chromium based, so it’s outdates and should not be used for anything secure, like homebanking, doing taxes etc. (you can find a download link in my forum thread about “Min” if you wish to try it)
    Please also note that Google cut DRM support for 32bits browsers about 2 years ago, so, there is no way that you can run Netfix, HBO, Disney+, etc on that device.

    32bits computers are a dying breed, so you’ll have to addapt and use only software that is still available for that arch: Firefox-esr, Firefox, Seamonkey, Falkon, slimjet, etc…

    Edit: on slow (and/or 32bits) devices, it may be worth to simply open /usr/share/applications in your default file manager ex:
    zzzfm /usr/share/applications
    This will show .desktop files for all installed applications on your computer – you can order the list in alfabetical order, from more recent to last, etc. This is helpfull because usually the names on a app’s .dekstop file match the name for the app, and you can, in zzzfm, just type what you want and it jumps to the file that has that text in the name.
    You also see the icons for each .desktop file.
    In zzzfm right click any .desktop file and select “Open” > “Execute” and the application starts.
    You can bookmark the “applications” folder (both on zzzfm or rox, or in any File Manager), to quickly access it.
    Yes, your filemanager can double as an app launcher, that’s Linux, for you! 🙂

    P.

    • This reply was modified 2 weeks ago by PPC.
    • This reply was modified 2 weeks ago by PPC.
    • This reply was modified 1 week, 6 days ago by PPC.
    #93937
    Member
    ModdIt
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Hi all, according to some forum posts on vivaldi it is no longer possible to patch and
    build the chrome based browsers for 32 bit. Last stable vivaldi version was released in 2021.

    One possibility, if security concious and wanting to reduce rescource usage modify
    Firefox ESR with userchrome css and user.js from LibreWolf. Remove hidden extensions
    from browser features too. Also use ublock origin if it will work with 32 bit.

    The less background activity (telemetry pinging etc.) the better the browser performs.

    The modifications using the css will only work with ESR as setup for company
    distribution. The Normal fox does not have the neccesary compile flags set.

    #93990
    Member
    argonaut459
    Helpful
    Up
    0
    ::

    Try the menu refresh. App-Select will help you find the menu manager to add it yourself, if a browser you installed did not appear on the menu. If you did add one, it should appear on the menu. If not let us know.

    Better yet, add it to your toolbar with the Toolbar Icon Manager, because on old machines its much quicker running programs from the toolbar than it is to run them via the menus.

    PS: Did you try what Caprea suggested?

    took a screenshot of everything that is in th menu list.
    – I don’t really know how to add things to it, I once found a config file where I could add programs and such, but couldn’t find it agian.
    – Same goes for the toolbar, at the very beginning a found the config, changed the date, but now I realize I used the wrong time format – and I can’t find it where to change it and save it 😀
    – yes, and it didn’t change anything, slimjet appreaded after I installed it the third time.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.