Interesting distribution

Forum Forums New users Welcome to antiX Interesting distribution

Tagged: , , ,

• This topic has 10 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated Jun 26-3:06 pm by Koo.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

I have been using linux for must be 20 years now. Diehard Puppy fan from way back. But came into some old computers and so been experimenting with alternatives. Have LxPup on one, Lubuntu 19.04 on another, windows 10 the Swiss Cheese edition for when I feel like pointlessly banging my head against the wall, and now AntiX19 on another.

I liked the installer. Well thought out. AntiX seems very stable once installed.

My only internet is by tethering my antique Samsung BADA 3G cell. Didnt see any dedicated option for tethering in AntiX, and not particularly wanting to run wvdial from terminal, I played with Gnome-ppp. I know its a front end for wvdial. But plays little nicer, course its designed for dialup so have to add APN via custom added init, AT+CGDCONT=1,”IP”,”APN” substituting my cell provider’s actual APN in the string. Just mentioning cause seems lot times people that choose apps for operating systems think there are only ethernet, wifi, and few diehard dialup users out there. You think this is bad, win10 had something called wired connection service off by default and no mention anywhere that it existed. I just happened to stumble on it. Turned it on and used win10 dialup dialer which leaves a LOT to be desired. Yes Google found posts of people with win10 trying to use actual dialup and you cant set a win10 dialup connection as metered… There is supposed to be a cell connection interface in win10 but that must just be when win10 detects Android or iOS phones. Not shown or offered otherwise.