Keyboard not working

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Keyboard not working

• This topic has 44 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated Apr 2-6:14 pm by Skrnet.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    leoven

Hi
      First off let me say what a great linux package this seems to be. I am runnng it on my chromebook with a USB and it consumes such little resources – not sure how you manage to put so much on this version, impressive.

Anyway, I have tried about 5 light distros, all of them allow the keyboard to work – Anti X is the only one where my keyboard doesn’t work – the reason I say this is it must be a common setting I am missing?

I am new to linux but have used terminal commands, I just cannot find anything on your menus to add a driver or select a keyboard (if that is the issue).

I searched the forums but looks like I am the only one since 2017 having this issue.
      In that other post it said to try to not boot UEFI, so I tried that, same result.

Just wondering if I should keep trying with settings or if someone might know how to remedy this.
      Thanks

leoven

Note : I should mention I am able to use the keyboard in the startup menu – it is when the program loads that the keyboard doesn’t work. Thanks

wildstar84

Use your mouse to open a terminal, then try the following commands:

sudo grep -i "keyboard" /var/log/Xorg.0.log

sudo grep "EE" /var/log/Xorg.0.log

and post the output. You could also try booting up in runlevel 3 (editing the boot line text to add a ” 3″ to the end of it, which should take you to a text login prompt (no X graphics) and see if you can type your user-name (to determine if kb doesn’t work at all or just doesn’t work in X).

Regards,

Jim

• This reply was modified 1 month ago by caprea.
          Robin