Making a VPN connection

Forum Forums General Software Making a VPN connection

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by DaveW Jan 12-11:42 am.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

buddy1812

This is my first post on this forum.

A bit about me, I am extremely new to Linux but have used computers since punch card days. So getting my hands dirty in the system is OK 🙂

After looking at the different distros I have settled on antiX. Super job guys !!!!! My Dell Workstation was never this quiet.

When I tried out live versions of the various other distros I was always able to access Genome connection manager to test out making an OPENVPN connection. If GCM was not in the default setup I had no issue to install it and have it show up in the tray. Unfortunately it did not work out so well with antiX. That was a challenge I gladly (well almost) took on.

Using Uncle Google I found enough information on the NET to where I can now make the VPN connection running the nm-applet using MENU –> RUN in ROOT mode. All is great. So what is my problem ?

1) I have no clue how to have this applet start at StartUp.
    2) Is there a way to make a OPENVPN connection using CENI ? Looking at the screen it was not obvious.
    3) Would WICD do the job ? Again, looking at what was there led me to think no.

Regards
    Henry

caprea
    caprea

Hi,
    so you installed network-manager and network-manager-gnome, if I understood right.
    https://www.antixforum.com/network-manager-available-in-antix-repos/
    To make the nm-applet show up in the tray at startup
    just put

nm-applet &

at the bottom of your hidden .desktop-session/startup file in home.
    You can do this eg. by opening in control-centre~~session~~desktop session user
    Close and save the startup-file.

I have no experience with vpn, but as far as I know you probably need the network-manger.

buddy1812

Hi Caprea

Yes, that did it.