Old netbook unusable, even with AntiX

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Old netbook unusable, even with AntiX

• This topic has 35 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated Dec 6-6:12 pm by blur13.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    jfm30204

I have flirted with Linux many times in the past so am not a total noob, yet I am pretty much a functional noob.

Presently, I am working on an Asus Eee PC Seashell 1015. It has an AMD V105 processor, 1 GB of ram, and a WD2500 250G 5400 rpm hard drive that tested under Crystal Disk Info as good. It formerly had an installation of Windows 7 Ultimate that gave a black screen on loading but would work in Safe Mode and actually had decent performance. I couldn’t manage to fix the display driver issue so thought to try a lightweight Linux to fix that and get better speed.

I went though the following: Zorin Lite – wouldn’t even load; Lubunto – was a dog (on this machine); and finally AntiX 23 x64 Full. The machine is also a total dog with AntiX – completely unusable – and that was a surprise. Shouldn’t it be able to run AntiX fairly well with this hardware? Shouldn’t it work better than the Win 7 Ultimate in Safe Mode? Are there tweaks that I probably should know to do but haven’t – maybe regarding swap file, etc.?

All help and/or suggestions gratefully received.

• This topic was modified 2 months, 4 weeks ago by jfm30204.
      PPC

Well, I run antiX 32bits perfectly well on a 32bits laptop with 1GB of RAM, so anything with 1Gb of RAM and a processor faster than some 1.333mhz should work.
        Of course that you have reasonable expectations of what running an OS on very old hardware implies – use lighter browser and office programs (like seamonkey web browser and openoffice appimage, etc).