Pipewire to manage audio in antiX 21

Forum Forums General Software Pipewire to manage audio in antiX 21

• This topic has 6 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated Jun 24-1:05 pm by Jing-Jo.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Xecure

I have been experimenting a bit with pipewire, and I can say it is the perfect replacement for pulseaudio. I have no experience with JACK, so I will only explain how it works managing my audio on my system.

PipeWire is a server and user space API to deal with multimedia pipelines. It will be very important for Wayland server (streaming audio/video between applications and screen sharing), but it is still very useful for us xorg users.

Currently in antiX-bullseye-a2 (testing, future antiX 21), it is good enough to manage input/output audio for all my devices on my laptop. I have it set up mainly to replace pulseaudio (not installed on my system). It doesn’t require systemd and, though a service could be created for it, it is NOT needed. I have it installed with a bluetooth module, and I am able to stream audio to my bluetooth headphones (a bit jumpy, but good enough for me), use pavucontrol to manage the volume and switch between audio input/output, play audio in firefox (without apulse!!) and all this using less CPU % compared to pulseaudio (still uses more than just pure ALSA, but negligible in my experience). It also has a good audio level compared to when I am using pulseaudio and similar to pure ALSA (but this may depend on the device, and may only be my experience).

Official Debian Instructions here: https://wiki.debian.org/PipeWire

Summary of what I have done on my system:

1. Install pipewire with audio client libraries (optional, for replacing pulseaudio, jack and handling alsa requests) and bluetooth modules (optional, for bluetooth audio streaming).
    sudo apt install pipewire pipewire-audio-client-libraries libspa-0.2-bluetooth