Problems installing new themes on Antix Linux

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Problems installing new themes on Antix Linux

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by ile May 17-10:03 pm.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    KommissarLohmann

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Antix, but already enjoying the new life it breathed on my old acer aspire one netbook. I’ve downloaded some new themes from box-look.org for icewm and fluxbox. I’ve followed the widely recommended instructions to extract the theme folders and copy it to the /usr/share/icewm (or /urs/share/fluxbox), but after restarting the window managers or even the session, they don’t show up in the theme menu list.

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, before installing antix to the hard drive, i’ve played around with a usb live session and managed to download and install the themes using the same method above and everything worked. Now, after installing antix in the hard drive, this doesn’t seem to work.

Help would be appreciated!
    Thanks

caprea
    caprea

It should work , the right place is /usr/share/icewm/themes and for fluxbox it’s /usr/share/fluxbox/styles , though.

KommissarLohmann

thank you for the quick reply. I mentioned incomplete paths, sorry. I copied the icewm and fluxbox themes to /usr/share/icewm/themes and /usr/share/fluxbox/styles respectively. And it has worked before in the live session usb persistence I’ve played around before installing into the hdd. Maybe is some permissions problem? I choosed the “root-move to” option to copy the themes, otherwise I didn’t had permission to copy them.

noClue
    noClue

/usr/share/icewm/themes and /usr/share/fluxbox/styles
    Maybe is some permissions problem?

Without that maybe. 😉

You need to set the owner and group to ‘root’ and access to 755 or 644.
    Best if you first check the original (unmodified) files.

Or … simply move themes to your home folder.