Recommended file system(s) on AntiX.

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Recommended file system(s) on AntiX.

Do you use ext4 by default when you install AntiX?

File system question

You must be logged in to participate.
  • Yes
  • No
  • This topic has 14 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated Jun 2-7:50 pm by Brian Masinick.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Colonel Panic

Hi there everybody. I’d like to know what your views are about which is the best filesystem for most users when they install AntiX?

I’ve been using ext4 for (I think) about eleven years now, and am very happy with it on the whole but have recently been experimenting with btrfs in a couple of distros because it has recently been touted in some articles I’ve read as the best filesystem to use in Linux. Ext4 is apparently getting antiquated now and doesn’t have some of the features btrfs has.

However, I’ve concluded that, for me at least, the extra facilities btrfs offers aren’t worth the extra problems it introduces, viz. one of my partitions was gradually filling up with snapshots and neither os-prober nor gparted could reliably detect or read a partition formatted with it. So I think it’s back to ext4 for me from now on (for the foreseeable future at least).

Does everyone agree, or do some people here think that btrfs is worth it? I would welcome your opinions. I’ve also included a poll so that people can quickly say whether or not they favour ext4, which is still the recommended filesystem for AntiX.

Thanks in advance,

CP .

• This topic was modified 12 months ago by Colonel Panic.
      • This topic was modified 12 months ago by Colonel Panic.
      arnauld

On Antix I use ext4. However on my Manjaro computer I tested and am using btrfs, am very happy with it because of the easy/fast snapshots system. In a few months, if I don’t encounter any problems on Manjaro I will re-install Antix (on my old laptop) using btrfs.

--
        Arnauld