Switching from Ubuntu to antiX

Forum Forums General Tips and Tricks Switching from Ubuntu to antiX

• This topic has 8 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated Apr 2-2:40 am by BobC.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    framebyte

Hello currently I am using Ubuntu as my daily driver. I am thinking about switching to antiX because I want something simple that does not use a lot of resources. My main concern is with the available software. I am a computer science student and usually if I need some piece of software it is available for Ubuntu. Since both ubuntu and antix are debian based I was wondering if anything that works on ubuntu will also work on antix?
      Hopefully I escape the hell that is ubuntu have a wonderful day!

ChPol

I was wondering if anything that works on ubuntu will also work on antix?

No, they’re not. They are two separate distributions.

You need to look at each one individually to see if the applications you need are available with the features you need.

sybok

Hi @framebyte, if you have enough disk space, how about a dual boot to try antiX?

Beware than antiX does not support ‘snap’ (systemd dependency) and DEB packages for *buntu may not work on Debian-based systems (e.g. due to different names of libraries) and DEB packages for Debian may not work on *buntu.
          This is a partial expansion on the answer provided by @ChPol.

It would probably be more straightforward to try a light-weight desktop variant on your *buntu install first.
          On the other hand, most of the heavy-weight apps will still be there, hence re-install with a more-lightweight *buntu desktop variant (e.g. Xubuntu or Lubuntu) is even better.

BTW, I recently saw ‘distrobox’ mentioned, it may help to resolve the situation if you decide to transit to antiX and you find some applications missing, see the official web-page: https://distrobox.it/
          Did not test it on antiX and I am not sure how it could decrease the performance.

PPC