Trying 17 with "testing" repo, no X

Forum Forums Official Releases antiX-17 “Heather Heyer” Trying 17 with "testing" repo, no X

This topic contains 14 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by eriefisher Apr 8-4:09 pm.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    seaken64

Hi all,

So, I decided to try my hand at running an antiX-17 system with the “testing” repo. I’ve been learning a lot about repos and have a better understanding of how linux repos work to update and upgrade the system. But I’m still learning. I thought I could accelerate this learning curve by installing a testing repo system on another computer, while I keep the stable systems on their own machines.

I installed antiX-17 Full 32-bit and chose the “testing” repo. I then did the updates and upgrade and dist-upgrade. After the “dist-upgrade” I do not get into X. I am dropped at a text mode login. I can log in and run inxi, lsmod, MC, etc. But I tried starting X but can get the X server to start.

Is the command still “startx”? I used startx and this is what I get back:

/etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc: 3: exec: /usr/bin/X: not found
    xinit: giving up
    xinit: unable to connect to the X server: connection refused
    xinit: server error

I looked at xorg.0.log and dmesg and lsmod. The hardware looks good. I am getting all the good drm and glx stuff using the intel i915 driver.

Maybe there is a problem with a missing file? Where do I look next to troubleshoot X server?

Thanks for any help you can give to get me pointed in the right direction.

Seaken64

skidoo

I would not expect simply typing “startx” to work.
    Following a dist-upgrade operation, I would attempt a normal shutdown then reboot. (do this at least twice)
    After several reboots, if the problem persists, I might add nomodeset to the bootline…

Afterward, if still faced with a tty, I would type “sudo init 5”.