Upgrade to 17 and system shut down from desktop

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Upgrade to 17 and system shut down from desktop

• This topic has 17 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated Jan 1-1:52 pm by caprea.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Budgie

Real beginner here with 32 bit antiX on laptop. I thought I had upgraded using:-

sudo apt-get update
      sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

but when I boot the first line on console states *antix 16.2. How do I get to 17?

I think I am using IceWM. No idea how to confirm. Whatever it is I cannot logout or shut down using the menu items. The only way I can shut down is using sudo shutdown now.

Please forgive the poorly presented post. Still trying to get used to this forum.
      Budgie

Forum Admin
      anticapitalista

Post output of inxi -r (It will show us your sources list)

This thread may be of use.

can-antix-16-be-upgrade-to-antix17

• This reply was modified 6 years, 5 months ago by anticapitalista.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX with runit - leaner and meaner.

Budgie

Hi, been on other machines and just returned to this, an old IBM T42 laptop (32bit). In the end I just did a fresh install of Antix 17 and am now familiarising myself with it.
          A couple of questions:-
          When I boot into antix there is no default desktop. I must select from menu after right click on screen. Can I set a default and how please?

The machine will not reboot or shutdown if I use the Menu>Logout>Reboot or Shutdown. What should I do to get these to work please?
          Budgie

Forum Admin
          Dave

If you right click and a menu comes up you are already at a desktop (which should have been rox-icewm)… and any desktop session you pick from the menu should be the “default” next boot.