Web Browser and Update Menu don't work.

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Web Browser and Update Menu don't work.

This topic contains 13 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by masinick Aug 11-12:32 pm.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

pianopraze

Installed AntiX.

Ran updates in LXTerminal (apt-get update, apt-get upgrade, apt-get dist-upgrade) rebooting in between until there were no more updates.

Web Browser and Update Menu don’t work.

Web Browser doesn’t open a browser window, it instantly says Mozilla Crash Reporter, with quit firefox and restart firefox being only options.

Update Menu does nothing when I click it. No windows open. Nothing.

I am a complete Linux noob. This is my third day. I have a very old Athelon 1.5 GB ram Geforce4 internal graphics system.

It is connecting to the internet as LXTerminal works, and Dillo works somewhat but looks very messed up. Never heard of that browser before, but it and LXTerminal prove I’m connecting to internet.

Help???

fatmac
    fatmac

With 1.5GB ram, you should be able to have Firefox working OK.
    LXTerminal is a program that runs on your computer, not the internet.
    Did you check your download? (Sounds like you may have got a bad download).
    Did it work running ‘live’ before installing it?

Linux (& BSD) since 1999

Forum Admin
    anticapitalista
    anticapitalista

Post in a terminal, inxi -r.
    Tell us which version of antiX you installed.

You may need to remove adobe-flash to stop the crashes or install palemoon nonsse2 version.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

pianopraze

I just saw the replies, I will test in the morning and reply, thank you 🙂

I ran it live to install antiX on the hard drive, but did not test the browser.