Xmms’s menu name doesn’t display correctly relating to IceWM

Forum Forums New users New Users and General Questions Xmms’s menu name doesn’t display correctly relating to IceWM

• This topic has 7 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated Jul 21-10:50 am by Xecure.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ren1268

Hi! I am new to antiX. Using locale zh_CN (Simplified Chinese Language) in 19.4, 64 bits live mode, Xmms’s menu name is not displayed correctly such as invoke Ctrl + P for Preference menu. The Chinese phrase of menu name does not display. It is showed “$(A)JWQ!On”. This does not happens when using antiX 19.2, 32 bits. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

PPC
    Helpful
    Up

There’s probably a bug in xmmss’s .desktop file of that particular version of antiX. Can you copy that file over for the antiX 19.2 32 bits version?
    The .desktop files are over at /usr/share/applications
    You can copy from that folder without any problems, but you need root privileges to copy to it, so, to do that you have to run your file manager in root mode- be careful with that!

On the other hand, the fact that xmms’s title appears the way it does on it’s window may indicate that there’s also some problem with the application itself.

Non related advice: you can try using the Package installer to install “deadbeef”- despite it’s horribale name, it’s a very good and light music player, way more recent than xmms, and it may run better on your computer.

P.

• This reply was modified 5 days, 4 hours ago by PPC.
    Xecure
    Helpful
    Up

Are you using the same icewm theme? If not, can you see if the theme config uses a different font? Some fonts support non-latin characters, but some only latin characters.
    The program seems to be OK, but the titlebar is rendered by the window manager. Try switching between different icewm theme or to fluxbox.

BobC
    Helpful
    Up